Local Societies

Taiwanese Continence Society

1. Brief History


With great efforts of our founding Chairman Prof. Han-Sun Chiang (1997-2000), and the succeeding Prof. Alex T.L. Lin (2000-2006), Prof. H.C. Kuo (2006-2012), and Prof. YC Chuang (2012-2018), the Taiwanese Continence Society (TCS) has acquired satisfactory results in educating related doctors and nurses, proving correct knowledge of incontinence and continence control to the general republic, and establishing the concept of the prevention and treatment of incontinence. We have now accomplished the four stages of the objective. Firstly, we gave the public a new understanding of continence control and the importance of the prevention and treatment of incontinence. Secondly, we held seminars of voiding dysfunction and incontinence, and organized the training programs for those working on these issues. Thirdly, we gathered Taiwan’s specialists to make the guideline for diagnoses and treatment of various voiding dysfunction, including overactive bladder, lower urinary tract symptoms, interstitial cystitis, pelvic organ prolapsed, benign prostatic hyperplasia, neurogenic voiding dysfunction, and continence promotion for aged people. Fourthly, we accumulate and pass on the research results on continence control, and enhance the cooperation and experience sharing of scholars from around the world.


The Taiwanese Continence Society (TCS) has actively participated all of the Pan-Pacific Continence Society (PPCS) events and also held PPCS annual meeting three times, the venues including Kaohsiung Chang Gung Memorial Hospital in 2008, Taipei Veterans General Hospital in 2011, and Millennium Vee Hotel in Taichung in 2014.

In 2008, in addition to urology experts and doctors from Taiwan, Japan, and Korea, many renowned professionals from Pittsburgh or trained from Pittsburgh were invited to give speeches, including Prof. William C. de Groat, Prof. Michael B Chancellor, Professor Naoki Yoshimura, and Professor Charlie Cheng in honor of 70th birthday of Prof. de Groat. This year, a satellite Pittsburgh symposium brought memories of days past in the laboratory and the distinguished research history of lower urinary tract physiology and pharmacology, and a total of 74 oral papers and poster papers were presented.


Science and friendship are the core values of PPCS. Therefore, the 2011 PPCS meeting was designed to promote those two values. The meeting venue was in Beitou District of Taipei City, which is renowned for its hot springs. Participants attended this academic event in the cool of autumn so they could take in some expert speeches, followed by a relaxing visit to a hot spring. Including master Prof. Robert M. Levin and clinical research papers by urology doctors in the Asian Pacific Area, a total of 110 oral papers and poster papers were presented this year.

In 2014, the meeting’s main topic was “Doctrine of the Mean: from underactive bladder to overactive bladder; from retention to incontinence”. This concept was inspired by Confucian philosophy, which emphasizes the importance of maintaining balance and harmony in various areas to achieve a state of constant equilibrium. During this session, doctors from different countries debated treatment issues, which not only encouraged brain storming but also enriched the meeting. This year, a total of 88 oral papers and poster papers were presented.  In addition, we gathered the Chinese experts from all over the world and held a Chinese LUTS forum in grand Hi Lai Hotel, Kaohsiung, 2015.


2. Current Main Member List

Executive Board of TCS (Sep 2015- Sep 2018)

  • President: Yao-Chi Chuang (Department of Urology, Kaohsiung Chang Gung Memorial Hospital, Kaohsiung)

  • Secretary General: Chun-Hou Liao (Division of Urology, Department of Surgery, Cardinal Tien Hospital and College of Medicine, Fu-Jen Catholic University, New Taipei City)

  • Committee Chair: Urodynamic Committee: Yung-Shun Juan (Department of Urology, Kaohsiung Municipal Hsiao-Kang Hospital, Kaohsiung)

  • Prostate Disease Committee: Shiu-Dong Chung (Division of Urology, Department of Surgery, Far Eastern Memorial Hospital, Taipei)

  • Stress Urinary Incontinence/ Pelvic Organ Prolapse Committee: Man-Jung Hung (Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Asia University Hospital, Taichung)

  • Interstitial Cystitis/ Ketamine Uropathy Committee: En Meng, Division of Urology (Department of Surgery, Tri-Service General Hospital, National Defense Medical Center, Taipei)

  • Neurogenic Voiding Dysfunction Committee: Sung-Lang Chen (Department of Urology, Chung Shan Medical University Hospital, Taichung)

  • Nurse Committee: Po-Jui Yu, School of Nursing (National Taiwan University, Taipei)

  • Internet Committee: Eric Chieh-Lung Chou (Department of Urology, China Medical University Hospital, Taichung)

  • Public Education Committee: Yu-Chao Hsu (Department of Urology, Chang Gung Memorial Hospital)


3. Homepage Address